Quiz: How did Manboobz’s feminist commenters respond to a man’s account of rape?

Here is a little one-question quiz to see how much you know about the Manboobz blog:

QUESTION ONE: A man describes being raped by a woman when he was 13-years-old. Do the Manboobz regulars:

a) Respond with sympathy and support

b) Attack him and accuse him of lying about his abuse, his life experiences, and his family, then return to posting about how there is no gray area when it comes to rape and intoxication

BONUS QUESTION: True or False: Someone on Manboobz argues that no feminists ever downplay, dismiss, ignore, or marginalize male victims, and that only feminists do anything to help male victims. This same person writes this after accusing a male victim of lying about his past. 

When Anthony Zarat shared his experience of being raped at 13-years-old by a woman, he summed up how much time he thinks abusers should get:

I wound never condemn a perpetrator to more than 3 years, out in 1 with full compliance, 5 on registry for simple non-consent with no additional violence or harm. This is over done, barbaric, and fundamentally un-just.

That comment prompted several responses. Myoo challenged Anthony’s “slap on the wrist” sentencing idea. Happy and Pecunium repeatedly accused him of lying about his experiences and family. Dracula accused him of not caring about men and boys.

The irony is that this happens on a thread chastising other people for attacking, victim-blaming and disbelieving a rape victim.

Granted, I do not care that plenty of feminists only pretend to care about male victims. They are not the only people who do it, and no one is actually fooled by their charade. However, they must know that they cannot complain about people trashing a rape victim and then turn around and do it themselves.

What I find truly revealing is that not one person called anyone on this. They are so wrapped up in proving that drunk men are always responsible for the actions that these feminists attack a victim a rape of without feeling guilty or admitting that they are doing just that as they self-righteously condemn the subreddit atheist posters of doing the exact same thing.

This does not happen by accident. That level of hypocrisy takes effort. It is intentional, and it is precisely because of this kind of misandrous, victim-shaming nonsense that I am not nor will ever be a feminist.

26 thoughts on “Quiz: How did Manboobz’s feminist commenters respond to a man’s account of rape?

  1. As a man who suffered abuse from his wife within a physical, mental, emotional and spiritual framework, whilst disabled from Viral Encephalitis, I can’t agree more with what you said.

    Lets not pretend to care, when you don’t!

  2. Well the hypocrisy of the boggerettes and camp followers are legion!

    Dogma is defined as “the established belief or doctrine held by a religion, or a particular group or organization. It is authoritative and not to be disputed, doubted, or diverged from, by the practitioners or believers.”

    They can have their cult of dogmatic rape – I’m sure the people who need to find help will be most welcome here – both male and female.

  3. there is a tremendous amount of bigotry with those people….

    when I used to post at Inmalafide, the white power types seemed strikingly similar….

    if this seems like an ad hominen attack, I can show links to things different people had said….

  4. I’m really concerned that people think that a sentence of twelve months (with good behaviour) is sufficient punishment for a woman who committed a statutory rape against an underage boy. I, for one, see no reason at all to assume that Anthony is lying but it really bothers me that if his plan had been law we could have seen that woman out of gaol and re-offending in twelve months.

    I’ve worked as a rape crisis counselor for many years and helped both men and women through the initial trauma that rape causes and I think they deserve better protection from that kind of predator than putting them behind bars for a mere twelve months.

  5. SaruGoku, I do not agree with Anthony’s proposition either. However, not agreeing with that proposition is no reason at all to claim Anthony lied about his abuse, his experiences, or his family. It is rather tactless and pathetic for a bunch of people claiming to care so much about male survivors to ignore people saying the man a lied about his abuse.

    There is no “but” in this. You do not accuse a man who says he was abused of lying about his abuse because he said something you did not like. You do not allow that nonsense to slide while complaining about another group of people who did the same thing. You simply do not do it.

  6. Well no, I don’t think it’s our place to judge that way. That’s the job of the courts. At the very least those who aren’t in the judiciary need to maintain careful neutrality or support the victim. Especially out here it costs nothing, after all, to believe the victim and be supportive.
    If, for some bizarre reason, they’re lying you believe them you’ve lost nothing. If they’re telling the truth a few kind words can make a big difference to the way they feel.

    The sex of the victim of both the victim and the perpetrator is irrelevant.

    To do him justice, however, David did pull one poster up for making personal attacks.

  7. SaruGoku, all of that is nice to say after the fact. However, when it happened no one stepped in and checked anybody for accusing a male rape victim of lying. That is the issue. A lot of feminists are very keen on saying they support male victims, but when they actually should support those men and boys feminists go silent. And if the site owner decided to speak up, he did so after I wrote my post, which makes his response rather moot.

  8. I think that one should always believe rape victims, that is my own personal position and I’ve lived by that since I discovered feminism thirty five years ago. I do not agree with people who do otherwise. This is a matter of principle for me. If you want to know why some of the members of Manboobs did otherwise you need to talk to them about it. I’m not a spokesperson for every member and I’m not entitled to answer for them.

    It also might be apposite to point out that many MRAs claim that women lie about rape so it seems a bit inconsistent to insist that a man who’s been raped should be granted understanding that many of the MRA would deny women in the same situation. It costs nothing to be sympathetic, regardless of the gender of the victim. I’d much sooner be fooled by than do further damage to someone who is already in pain.

    Please excuse me for the time being, it’s 3am here and I need to sleep. Goodnight.

  9. If you want to know why some of the members of Manboobs did otherwise you need to talk to them about it. I’m not a spokesperson for every member and I’m not entitled to answer for them.

    I never said you spoke for anyone. However, you did participate on that thread, and you presumably read the comments accusing a victim of lying and you did not challenge them. That you are answerable for.

    It also might be apposite to point out that many MRAs claim that women lie about rape so it seems a bit inconsistent to insist that a man who’s been raped should be granted understanding that many of the MRA would deny women in the same situation.

    What some men’s rights activists claim is irrelevant. We are talking about the feminists on Manboobz who complained about a group of atheists attacking a female rape victim only to turn around and attack a male rape victim as they claim they support male victims.

  10. A lot of things are said by various friends the various threads of the various blogs that I follow. I’m sure it’s the same for you. I was responding to comments that were made to me. The people who made the comments you don’t like are the one’s responsible for them, not everyone who comments on the blog. Some of us have real life issues that are far more important and pressing than any that is ever said on line and I don’t follow every comment posted on Manboobs to make sure that I publicly disagree with anything they say that I don’t happen to agree with. I go for days at a time without commenting because I have far, far more important thing that I must do.

    And no, I don’t consider that that it’s irrelevant that you personally and other MRAs who comment at various times about how women lie about rape is irrelevant. It’s inconsistent with your own stated attitude in the article above. I’ve made my own position on this perfectly clear but I don’t intent to take responsibility for everything anybody else says.

  11. The people who made the comments you don’t like are the one’s responsible for them, not everyone who comments on the blog.

    Which is precisely why Futrelle wrote a post complaining about a group of atheists attacking a rape victim and having several of those hostile comments upvoted, right?

    Some of us have real life issues that are far more important and pressing than any that is ever said on line

    But apparently those real-life issues are not so important or pressing as to prevent one from commenting online.

    and I don’t follow every comment posted on Manboobs to make sure that I publicly disagree with anything they say that I don’t happen to agree with.

    I think that if you would post a comment objecting to the treatment of one rape victim or someone’s suggestion about how to treat rapists you might read some of the comments.

    And no, I don’t consider that that it’s irrelevant that you personally and other MRAs who comment at various times about how women lie about rape is irrelevant.

    I am not a men’s rights activist, and their position is irrelevant because the issue is that feminists claim to support male victims, yet stood by as two feminists accused a male victim of lying as they complained about another group of people trashing a rape victim. That is hypocrisy at its best. Saying other people are hypocrites too does not change that.

    It’s inconsistent with your own stated attitude in the article above.

    No, it is not because I have not and do not accuse rape victims of lying because I disagree with their views or propositions.

  12. Pingback: 28th Jan 2012 « Men's Voices

  13. It also might be apposite to point out that many MRAs claim that women lie about rape so it seems a bit inconsistent to insist that a man who’s been raped should be granted understanding that many of the MRA would deny women in the same situation.

    The difference here is hipocrisy. MRAs are not trying to push through legislation that all males are believed all the time and never questioned.

    In fact, the laws that feminists passed have gender-neutral wording, so they technically apply to male accusers too.

    MRAs only ask that rape accusers are not given any special privilege over any other type of accuser, so there’s no hipocrisy there.

    MRAs do not on one instance throw a hissy fit demanding that a male accuser be believed 100% and not questioned, to then turn around and question females.

    Make sense? The issue here is double standards and hipocrisy, which the MRA does not have. The MRA asks that men be treated equally, not that they get special privilege.

  14. Pingback: More Manboobz Misandry… « stonerwithaboner

  15. Pingback: You’re not helping v7 | Toy Soldiers

  16. Pingback: Monkey See Monkey Do | Toy Soldiers

  17. Pingback: On Being In Between — The Good Men Project

  18. I’m a male. I went to a female doctor once, and she told me to lay down on my back on the examination table. I thought, “Oh, she’s going to palpate my abdomen…” And I thought it was no big deal. So I did as she instructed, then lifted up my shirt and pulled up my undershirt as well. As she began to press around different spots on my abdomen, I was making these funny little noises. Something like, “Geep!” or “Guh!” She paused and looked up at me, “You’re in pain,” she said, making an observation.
    “No,” I replied, “I’m just a little ticklish.”
    She smiled and said, “Oh, you’re ticklish, huh?” So she proceeded to purposefully tickle me!
    We shared a good laugh, and did whatever needed to get done and then I went home; it was pretty much the highlight of my day.

    But you know what? It’s the wrong attitude to have. I asked myself, “What would I have done if a male doctor had tickled me?” And then I realized, I would’ve probably sued him for sexual harassment! So after a lot of thinking and reflection, I’ve reformed my misandrist ways. I’ve solemnly sworn to the One God who gave me life that if a good looking male doctor tickles me, whether I have sexual attraction to him or not, I’ll feel equally giddy for the rest of the day.

  19. Pingback: Top Posts of 2012 | Toy Soldiers

  20. This isn’t even remotely as bad as the response I got when I said that, by the current definition, I have been raped. It was something like: “that means you’re a selfish asshole who just puts his dick into everyone without giving a damn about others”. That’s the best my memory can do to reproduce the response. And NOBODY spoke out. Pity I didn’t screen shot the comments.

  21. I tried to recall and find it but it’s somewhere buried in the abyss of manboobz comments/posts that all share the same fate of inevitable oblivion. And my memory of any encounter with those cretins has a habit of fading very fast.

    I suppose I could easily reproduce their reaction (it’s not like they had a chance to grow or change) but there are more rewarding ways to spend your time. But I know now for the future to take a screenshot and save the link should I ever find myself there again.

  22. Pingback: Defending Injustice | Toy Soldiers

  23. Pingback: When Ideologies Teach Hate | Toy Soldiers

  24. Pingback: A Dose of Stupid v94 | Toy Soldiers

Leave a Reply

