Had your fill?

As I walked downtown today with my cousins, I had a hankering for chicken fingers. Since we were pretty far from the heart of downtown, I figured we could go to the new Chick-fil-A that opened earlier this year. I had wanted to try it out, having never been there before. This was around 1:30 pm, and I knew the store might be packed because with Loyola students on lunch. However, I did not expect this:

Supporters of Chick-fil-A turned out in droves Wednesday to the chicken chain’s downtown Chicago and Orland Park restaurants in the wake of criticism directed at the company for an executive’s anti-gay marriage comments.

Shortly after 1 p.m. in Chicago, a line of more than 120 people snaked out of the store at 30 E. Chicago, not far from the Magnificent Mile.

Earlier, hundreds of people lined up out the door in Orland Park, spilling into the parking lot, and cars waiting to park or make their way to the drive-through snaked through the entranceway to the shopping center and down LaGrange Road.

This support effort started with Mike Huckabee:

The support came after former Arkansas Gov. Mike Huckabee, a Baptist minister, declared Wednesday national “Chick-fil-A Appreciation Day” after the chain’s president, Dan Cathy, told the Baptist Press last month that the Atlanta-based company was “guilty as charged” for backing “the biblical definition of a family.”

I think Cathy’s opinion is ridiculous and outdated. However, he is entitled to it. To my knowledge, his restaurants do not discriminate against gay people, at least when it comes to serving them. I do not know if they have a policy banning gay people from working there.

The more troublesome part about Cathy’s position is that he has funded anti-gay organizations with the money from his franchise. When you fund hate groups, there is a very real problem, and it is reasonable for people not to support a franchise that backs that kind of bigotry.

Yet, people are also entitled to support the restaurant chain, even if it means a person buying 25 order of waffle fries and sandwiches at one time. What I hope those supporters understand is that there money is going to fund organizations that promote bias and bigotry against gay people.

As to the pertinent matter, I did not get my chicken fingers, not because I will not buy from Chick-fil-A, but because I hate waiting in long lines outside in the middle of a Chicago summer.

We went to the Epic Burger down the block.

9 thoughts on “Had your fill?

  1. The problem is people who take a statement that was nothing more than “pro-traditional marriage” (Kathy made no anti-gay statements in the interview) and so casually slide that into into “anti-gay” and then “hate group.” Just because someone doesn’t agree with you doesn’t make them anti-whatever, or haters.

  2. The problem is that they use their proceeds to fund hate groups. That is the reason I haven’t been to their stores in years.

  3. Gaymarriage – it is great to be in a free land were you have the choice which car I buy who I date who I marry etc… I personally see homosexuality as unhealthy ,however in some species such as tadpole’s which turn into frogs they have the ability at will to change sex either from male to female or vice versa. They do this for survival means and their DNA is used in the popular movie Jurassic park to reconstruct dinosaurs causing some of the problems !!! Anyways aside from tadpoles especially If your American your country stands for freedom freedom of speech freedom to wear what you want do what you want freedom to be happy freedom to love who you love and marry who you want to marry 🙂 I wish and pray everyone was in healthy faithful happy heterosexual marriages/ relationships but I pray for those who live alternative lifestyles that Jesus would save them and show them lliving by gods intended designs is a good way to live 🙂

  4. TS: Just curious, do you consider NARTH a hate group?

    I would not call them a hate group, although I do think they have a certain level of anti-gay sentiment. While I agree with them that sometimes people may engage in homosexual activity and “feel” gay when they are not (likely as a result of early childhood abuse), the notion that homosexuality can be “cured” smacks of homophobia.

  5. “What I hope those supporters understand is that there [sic] money is going to fund organizations that promote bias and bigotry against gay people.”

    You got your wish. We do. And we had the opportunity to strike a blow for freedom of speech and association, and for the embarrassing (if possible) 2 braying mayoral jackasses and 1 whining aldermanic jenny.

  6. @Toysoldier: “As to the pertinent matter, I did not get my chicken fingers, not because I will not buy from Chick-fil-A, but because I hate waiting in long lines outside in the middle of a Chicago summer.”

    Do you feel proud and cool about this? “Yeah I am not eating there because a group of people are disenfranchised and routinely persecuted but because I just can’t be bothered”.

    It strikes me as ironic that your site is devoted to MR yet you routinely manage to succinctly mock and belittle gay men.

    @Southern Man: Denying gay people rights is not “pro-tradition”; it is anti-gay and homophobic. It doesn’t matter how much you hate those words.

    @Lightning Hunter: You are just quite a disgusting individual.

    @Uno Hu: So are you.

  7. Steven, as far as I know, Chick-fil-A does not refuse to serve gay people, disallow them from working for the company, or disenfranchise gay people in any way. Only one guy made the statement, and he is entitled to that view. I am not going to pretend to be outraged when I frankly do not care what Cathy thinks about marriage.

    I would be pretty difficult for me to “routinely manage to succinctly mock and belittle gay men” considering that I spend a great deal of my time with gay men (who ironically have eaten at Chick-fil-A following the fallout). However, feel free to show examples of how I “routinely” mock and belittle gay men. I

Leave a Reply

