A Dose of Stupid v90

It happens every day. In fact, it is pretty hard to avoid it. There are some things that can only be understood with a slap on the forehead. Things so mind-boggling that one wonders how humans managed to evolve thumbs while being this mentally inept. Case in point:

E3: 72 Hours of Misogyny

The fun part about the internet is that you can usually check the sources. For example, let us say someone writes a tweet about a particular person that upsets someone. Let us say that upset person then writes an article blasting said tweet as an example of “rampant misogyny” in a given community. Well, one can easily track down said tweet and see what kind of response it got.

This is what I tried to do, except said tweet had been deleted. Deleting the tweet would not stop anyone from commenting on it, so I looked for evidence that the Twitterverse supported Boogie2988’s now deleted tweet, “£429 do we get a complimentary blow job off Bonnie Ross with that?” and could not find anything remotely supporting it or him.

The only negative mention about Bonnie Ross,the studio head of 343 Industries, I could find came from Matthew G P Coe’s tweet about the wolf whistle someone did at the beginning of Ross’ talk at E3. When I looked up the #E3 Bonnie Ross and Bonnie Ross hashtags, the only sexist commentary I could find was in reference to Coe’s article on the Good Men Project.

It is obvious that feminism and video games mix as well as oil and water, so it comes as no surprise that feminists will find “rampant misogyny” no matter how quick their glance. The wolf whistle was inappropriate, but hardly proof that the E3 conference is, as Coe put it, “a ridiculous three-day-long display of sexism, objectification, and misogyny (oh, and something about video games, too).” While I have never attended the conference, I am fairly certain that there is more than a few sprinkles of video game content. Yes, there are booth babes, however, that typically is not the focus of the conference.

Yet Coe’s hyperbolic statement fuels the feminist ire. Read the comments on Coe’s article. Look at the feminist response on Twitter. Or check out the Feministing response to a man beating a woman in a fighting game. Please note that telling someone whose ass you are thoroughly kicking in Killer Instinct to “just let it happen, it’ll be over soon” is a rape joke, a “fact” that feminists must (poorly) explain because no one else sees it that way.  Microsoft has apologized for the comment, not that it will matter.

While there are instances of sexism against women in the gaming community, the goal of most of this “criticism” is simply to trash a popular niche group. Everyone like beating up nerds and geeks. Feminists dislike nerds and geeks for a variety of reasons (mostly because, to use Coe’s analogy, the community pulled a Sméagol and realized they do not need feminists or feminism), so it comes as no surprise to see feminists yet again painting the entire community with a broad brush over two instances of two individuals doing something feminists do not like.

I am more than content to allow feminists to engage in their masturbatory “male gamerz r teh EVILZ!” nonsense because it typically backfires. You cannot win over an ostracized group of people by taking pot shots at them every time you open your mouth. You cannot win them over by ignoring the misandry directed at them. You certainly cannot win them over by telling them they need to get thicker skin when you go for their throat as you complain about all the trash talk directed at a certain group of people. Gamers, like all nerds and geeks, are very aware of double standards. Of all the groups to not use double standards on, the gaming community is at the top of the list. They smell that stupidity coming a mile away.

Why feminists continue to think that a handful of people’s bad behavior is indicative of what anyone who plays videos thinks remains unclear. It does make it easier to bash this particular group of males, however, feminists in general have had little problem finding ways to bash men and boys even when giving “advice”:

To make this abundantly clear, if you were one of the guys who decided to judge Bonnie Ross’ ability or competence based on her appearance or gender, or you made—or laughed at—jokes about her, using language specifically reserved for insulting women, you are part of the problem. You are holding back the human race from evolving beyond prejudice, beyond hatred, and beyond unwarranted fear. And I refuse to stand idly by and watch you do it.

Good. I hope the next time someone decides to judge a man’s ability or competence based on his appearance or gender, or someone makes—or laughes at—jokes about him, using language specifically reserved for insulting men Coe will also refuse to stand idly by and watch them do it. Of course, it is probably hard for Coe to catch others doing it since he was so busy doing it in his own article.

13 thoughts on “A Dose of Stupid v90

  1. There’s a reason that the GMP is virtually worthless as a site. This is an example of it.

  2. Pingback: A Dose of Stupid v90 | Viva La Manosphere!

  3. Isidra: ” You are taking Coe to task but you admit you have never been. What in the…???”

    And? What’s your point?

  4. Isidra, let me help you get it right: I am a life-long gamer. Most of my friends are part of the community, either as gamers or as developers. While I have not been to GDC or E3, by virtue of not being a developer or producer, I do know several game developers and I have never heard them say anything remotely close to E3 being about all about sexism. The biggest complaint I have heard is about certain developers using booth babes to drawn attention to their booths. Everything else I hear, read, and watch online is about the games and tech shown at the conference. The same holds true for my general experience of being around other gamers. So I think I am more than qualified to take Coe to task for misrepresenting E3 as a conference specifically about misogyny just because one guy wolf whistled Bonnie Ross. Even if I had no interest in games, I could still take Coe to task because it is illogical for Coe to take one person’s actions and declare that the entire three-day conference is “a ridiculous […] display of sexism, objectification, and misogyny (oh, and something about video games, too).”

  5. I find it interesting to complain of things that sound like rape jokes as commentary during A GAME THAT IS VIOLENT ANYWAY. Because beating people up (and death? been so long since I played it) is ok but oh no, someone said to just get it over with already which is also common terms to gaming, and any other activity in which you are fighting an uphill battle. Seeing rape everywhere is a big problem, being triggered off so much and THEN expecting the world to change to suit your triggers is a big problem too. Should the world cater to my triggers too? It’s a violent game, how many war veterans with PTSD get triggered?

    I can understand the dislike for watering down the term “rape” as in “dude you just got rappppped” when it wasn’t a sexual assault but someone being killed in a game but “just let it happen, it’ll be over soon” IS NOT A RAPE JOKE IN THIS CONTEXT. It’s a joke about having no fucking chance to save himself in a game where he/she is getting their ass kicked. Know what else rapists say a lot? “Stop crying” “You love it” etc, are they rape jokes too now?

  6. Isidra:
    Let me get this right. You are taking Coe to task but you admit you have never been. What in the…???
    The this is though Coe is taking a single moment of E3 and propping it up as representation of the entire 3 day conference. Seriously calling it 72 hours of misogyny? Talk about sensationalism.

    Thing is agree with the overall point of what Coe is saying. As TS said in his post here there is no question that there is misogyny in the gaming world. But when you start trying to characterize the entire world on single events its no wonder people get turned off. (To quote Coe, “Now, I knew going into this that E3 is a ridiculous three-day-long display of sexism, objectification, and misogyny (oh, and something about video games, too”.))

    And I think its also worth mentioning that at least on my Twitter feed I’ve seen more calling out of this behavior than I have seen of the actual behavior.

  7. There’s something else you need to realize, Isidra:

    This whole sensationalist spin on what amounted to little more than a wolf whistle is endemic of how mainstream tackles misogany. That is, with swords and spears drawn ready to pierce the woman haters.

    Meanwhile, there are many mainstream articles and people in the public sphere making off-color, unsubtantiated remarks about men. And NO ONE, save for the Mens Rights movements and select underground blogs, is even throwing so much as a pebble.

    While I agree that mysogany is bad, so is misandry. And I’d rather no one sensationlize either one. Just give equal coverage.

    The Good Men Project went at it similar to the way tabloid papers smell the blood of malicious rumors and gossip.

  8. And, as always, we have those ignorant commentators thinking it all peachy, one even jokingly saying they’ll be on the horn to their travel agent.

    How these people could use their brains to breath properly is beyond me.

  9. Because I clicked on something in Google that asked me to Google myself, I found my initial comment here. So this is a seriously delayed response. I appreciate your comments. I do. But as a woman who used to LOVE the E3 (and took my sons), the last time I went, (the year before this wolf whistle business) I found myself thinking, “OK, the world is ending.” Every game was about death and mayhem (the ones rich enough to plaster their art all over) –Resident Evil sticks out in my mind. Then the booth babes (I did not have a word for them, thank you very much, now I do) were sashaying everywhere. Early on, I went to cover games for girls. I got nowhere (well, little where.) Things have changed since I first started going, but IMHO, not for the best. The very first DVD I ever owned (I was working at a radio station in the news dept.) and one booth gave me an interactive Bob Marley DVD. I didn’t even have anything to play it on but saved it and when I got my first computer I loved it! It was so well done, way before its time. (Wish I could find it.) Back then, I learned a lot, enjoyed interviewing people and seeing the innovations but the last one I attended was kind of zombie like — kind of like Coe described. So my original question meant “Who feels it knows it” as Bob Marley would sing, and if you had actually gone, perhaps you would have been a lil more understanding of what I felt. I know this community defends itself fiercely, and that’s OK, but even in these comments on this page, I wish other women would speak out and make themselves known (You might be a woman for all I know) because I know this is the very thing women on one hand DO (booth babes), and on the other hand complain about. Just my take.

Leave a Reply

