Educator resigns after allegations of abuse

This is a first:

A California educator has resigned after a woman accused her in a YouTube video of abusing her when she was a 12-year-old student, school authorities said Tuesday, and police said they were looking into the allegations.

In a video that went viral, 28-year-old Jamie Carrillo speaks into a webcam and confronts a woman identified as a school administrator with allegations of sexual abuse that Carillo says began when she was a middle school student. The video has drawn 480,000 hits since being posted Friday.

Officials for the Alhambra Unified School District, where the educator was working as a high school assistant principal, said they received an email Friday with a link to the YouTube video, and immediately notified police.

“The Alhambra High School administrator was interviewed on January 17, 2014 and at the conclusion of that interview the Alhambra High School administrator tendered her resignation,” the statement said.

The accused, Andrea Cardosa, did not deny the allegations. Instead, she stated that she regretted what happened:

The former student, who calls herself “Jamie,” said the abuse started when she was 12 years old.

“I am 28 years old and have been waiting years to get up enough courage to report a teacher for sexually abusing me for years,” Jamie’s caption on her YouTube video states.

“When I finally got up enough courage to report her, I found out that the statute of limitations was up and she will never have to pay for the things that she did to me.”

So she decided to expose the teacher on the Internet.

“I decided I’m going to call her to get some answers from her,” Jamie said to a camera in her home.

After the woman identified as the teacher picked up the phone, Jamie asked, “So what happens when a student comes in and says that they’re having (a) sexual relationship with a teacher?”

“I would involve law enforcement,” the woman said.

“So how is that any different from what you did” years ago, Jamie said.

“It’s not,” the woman replied.

“Do you realize that you brainwashed me, and you manipulated me, and that what you did was wrong?” Jamie asked.

“Yes. And I regret it,” the woman responded.

“You should be so ashamed and so disgusted with yourself,” Jamie said, raising her voice.

“I am. I am,” the woman said.

I am unsure of the legality of this move. While it is impressive that Carrillo got Cardosa to admit to the abuse, I do not think the video can be used in court. Some states disallow recordings made without the other party’s knowledge as evidence. The authorities need a warrant to get such covert evidence in. Civilians typically are not allowed to trick someone into a recorded confession.

Carrillo’s resignation is another matter. It does not prove she did anything, however, it will lend credence the accusation should this go before a grand jury. After all, why would she say regret something she did not do? There is also the issue of the statute of limitations. According to Carrillo, the limitations are up. However, investigators are looking into it. I think California does allow some prosecutions after the statute of limitation expires on sexual abuse cases, but I may be mistaken. I do know that the civil statute of limitation for the state expires when the victims turns 30-years-old.

I applaud Carrillo for getting her alleged abuser to admit the abuse. Very few people who abuse children openly admit it. My father is the only person I know who will if asked, although he is shrewd enough to couch his words depending on the situation.

I am also surprised that Cardosa admitted that there was no difference between her actions and those of other teachers accused of abuse. That implies some aspect of guilt and sympathy on her part, and those feelings may have kept her from re-offending.

4 thoughts on “Educator resigns after allegations of abuse

  1. Good for her, I hope this can be resolved and justice done. Perhaps other boys and girls will now be saved from such things…maybe, just maybe, a would be predator will see this video and think twice. We can only pray that this will deter monsters and give strength to survivors.

    “My father is the only person I know who will if asked, although he is shrewd enough to couch his words depending on the situation.”

    This is a similar situation with my stepfather. Over the years he has gone from outright denial, to partial admittance with very particular language, to saying “yes, I did this to you for 7 years…but only because I didn’t want to give your mother STDs from a prostitute.” Yes, because stepchildren are merely ways for their parents to avoid having sex with other adults besides their spouse…

    Regardless of what your father is willing to admit to, you know what happened. My thoughts are with you.

  2. “Carrillo’s resignation is another matter. It does not prove she did anything, however, it will lend credence the accusation should this go before a grand jury. After all, why would she say regret something she did not do?”

    If Carrillo had hung up or countered with “I don’t know what you’re talking about” then you’d have a case.

    However, Carrillo admitted that she did it: Plain and matter-if-fact.

    I don’t see why you’re giving her the benefit of the doubt when, in the article and on the video, Carrillo didn’t refute or challenge the accusation.

  3. If Carrillo had hung up or countered with “I don’t know what you’re talking about” then you’d have a case.

    However, Carrillo admitted that she did it: Plain and matter-if-fact.

    She did, however, the way the admission was gotten could be a problem. If she was recorded without her permission, that recording could be inadmissible. In many states people are not allowed to be recorded without their consent, regardless of the nature of the recording. Even the admission of a crime would not matter. If California bars recording people without their permission, the video may be thrown out.

    I don’t see why you’re giving her the benefit of the doubt when, in the article and on the video, Carrillo didn’t refute or challenge the accusation.

    I am not giving her the benefit of doubt so much as I am acknowledging that she has not been charged with anything yet. At this point, it is still an allegation, even though she admitted to the allegation.

  4. Pingback: Second woman accuses former educator of abuse | Toy Soldiers

Leave a Reply

