A Honey Badger’s response to a feminist

I wrote about Liana K’s message to antifeminists two months ago. I thought I expressed my opinions well, however, Hannah Wallen released a series of video responses that I think did a much better job. Wallen spoke to a number of issues I missed or barely touched.

One of the elements to the divide between feminists and everyone else is that feminists seem unwilling to let go of parts of their ideology. For many feminists, protecting feminism supersedes objective analysis. Wallen noted this in her fourth video: the concern seems to be converting people to feminism rather than considering their complaints.

I think we see this play out on the left far too many times, particularly with the latest presidential election. (I will write about the election. At the moment, I am gathering information pertaining to a number of points.) It seems too many people on the left fail to realize that if you want people to support you that you need to be willing to listen to them and not merely lecture them.

Liana K’s rant comes across as a lecture. Rather than listening to men’s rights activists’ complaints, she pushes her own views, often of to the point of dismissing legitimate issues like sexual violence against males.

It is not that I think she does this out of malice. Like Wallen, I think people like Liana K do it because their ideology is so important to them that they either do not realize they do it or they rationalize why it is not that bad.

[yuotube=https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nk4Cq1yCSK0]

3 thoughts on “A Honey Badger’s response to a feminist

  1. OT but I don’t care.
    Right after I thought to link AVFM to this it occurred to me that it’s even more up your alley that it is AVFMs.

  2. “It seems too many people on the left fail to realize that if you want people to support you that you need to be willing to listen to them and not merely lecture them.”

    You could say this about almost anyone with a cause of some sort- they tend to be better complainers than listeners- but it is particularly ironic with feminism because one of the apparent goals of feminism is putting women in positions of power and authority.

    You don’t get to a position of power and/or authority by failing to empathize with half of the people you want to lead. Hillary Clinton’s campaign slogan was “I’m with her”. Compare that with Bill Clinton’s “I feel your pain”. For every one person guilted into voting for a woman there are two who simply notice that employing this tactic is the exact opposite of leadership.

    By the way, this problem doesn’t apply to men’s right activism, because MRAs are not trying to get men elected president or made CEOs of large companies. If a woman like Hannah Wallen or Karen Straughan wanted to run for president on a platform of “I care about the common man”, I’d vote for her in a second.

Leave a Reply

