Kevin Spacey Comes Out To Brush Aside Molestation Accusation

Actor Anthony Rapp accused Kevin Spacey of making sexual advances on him when Rapp was 14-years-old. He detailed the incident in an interview with Buzzfeed.

Spacey invited Rapp to a nightclub. Somehow 14-year-old Rapp and his 17-year-old friend were able to get in with Spacey without showing any identification. Following that event, Rapp joined Spacey at his home for a party a few days later. When Rapp arrived, he found that he was the only child there, which he stated was usual given the types of acting jobs he took. He also did not know anyone there.

According to Rapp, he eventually went into Spacey’s bedroom and watched TV:

At some point, Rapp said he turned to see Spacey standing at the bedroom door. And that’s when he first realized that everyone else had left the party. They were alone.

“My memory was that I thought, Oh, everybody’s gone. Well, yeah, I should probably go home,” Rapp said. Spacey, he recalled, “sort of stood in the doorway, kind of swaying. My impression when he came in the room was that he was drunk.” Rapp doesn’t remember Spacey saying anything to him. Instead, Rapp said, “He picked me up like a groom picks up the bride over the threshold. But I don’t, like, squirm away initially, because I’m like, ‘What’s going on?’ And then he lays down on top of me.”

“He was trying to seduce me,” Rapp said. “I don’t know if I would have used that language. But I was aware that he was trying to get with me sexually.”

Rapp recalled this all happening — Spacey appearing at the door, coming into the room, picking him up, and putting him on the bed — in one clumsy action, with Spacey landing at a slight angle on top of him. He said Spacey “was, like, pressing into me,” and that he remembers Spacey “tightening his arms.” But while he can’t recall exactly how long Spacey remained on top of him, Rapp said he was able to “squirm” away after a short period.

“It was a frozen moment,” Rapp said of the entire encounter, with a deep, exasperated sigh. “In terms of fight or flight or freeze, I tend to freeze.”

After pushing Spacey off him, Rapp remembered he was able to step into the bathroom and close the door. “I was like, ‘What is happening?’” he said. “I saw on the counter next to the sink a picture of him having his arm around a man. So I think on some level I was like, Oh. He’s gay. I guess. Then I opened the door, and I was like, ‘OK, I’m going to go home now.’ He followed me to the front door of the apartment, and as I opened the door to leave, he was leaning on the front door[frame]. And he was like, ‘Are you sure you wanna go?’ I said, ‘Yes, good night,’ and then I did leave.”

As he walked home, “My head was spinning,” Rapp said. “I have a memory of turning around and [thinking], What was that? What am I supposed to do with it? What does it mean?”

He paused. “The older I get, and the more I know, I feel very fortunate that something worse didn’t happen,” he said. “And at the same time, the older I get, the more I can’t believe it. I could never imagine [that] anyone else I know would do something like that to a 14-year-old boy.”

Rapp admits that he does not recall certain things prior to and following the incident. Let us assume, however, that Rapp’s account happened as he described. The best case scenario for Spacey is that he was too drunk to realize this was a 14-year-old boy. The worst case scenario is that Spacey had done this before, inviting young actors to his home under the pretense of friendship while intending to have sex with them.

As I have noted before, actors like Corey Feldman and Elijah Wood have spoken about the hidden pedophilia within the Hollywood industry. Kevin Spacey is just another high-profile Hollywood power player facing these accusations. A few years ago, Bryan Singer faced similar accusations, and has a history of such claims dating back to his film Apt Pupil. Director Victor Salva, the man behind the Jeeper Creepers franchise, has had numerous accusations against him.

It would not be surprising to find that just as women and girls are preyed on, so are men and boys. They face a particularly difficult situation because in some instances their sexuality could be used against them to a tool of keeping them quiet. Likewise, some famous power player could hide his sexual orientation behind his fame, knowing that any young gay actor would have to out himself in order to make the accusation. For the men and boys who are not gay but were targeted, they face the same situation as their female counterparts: their careers could be over before they start should they come forward.

The most disturbing part about this is that it is an open secret within the industry. I know a few people involved in films, and I have heard stories like this over the years. Everyone with even a tangential connection with Hollywood has heard stories about this. Milo Yiannopoulos mentioned this in his infamous interview on Joe Rogan.

One would think that an actor like Kevin Spacey would handle the situation with care. If he were so drunk that he could not tell who he approached, that would at least explain away his behavior. Kevin Spacey released the following statement:

I have a lot of respect and admiration for Anthony Rapp as an actor. I’m beyond horrified to hear his story. I honestly do not remember the encounter, it would have been over 30 years ago. But if I did behave as he describes, I owe him the sincerest apology for what would have been deeply inappropriate drunken behavior, and I am sorry for the feelings he describes having carried with him all these years.

That is sufficient. He does not admit to doing anything, yet offers an apology. Again, it is possible he was too drunk to know what he was doing. This leaves him enough room to explain himself later. That should have been the end of the statement, however, Spacey decided to swat away the accusation by coming out as gay:

This story has encouraged me to address other things about my life. I know that there are stories out there about me and that some have been fueled by the fact that I have been so protective of my privacy. As those closes to me know, in my life, I have had relationships with both men and women. I have loved and had romantic relationships with men throughout my life, and I choose now to live as a gay man. I want to deal with this honestly and openly and that starts with examining my own behavior.

Rapp was not a man at the time. He was a 14-year-old boy, and if you look at pictures of him from 1986 he looks younger than that. As generous as one can be in assuming Spacey was drunk, one can also assume he only acted drunk — after all, he is a good actor — as a cover in case Rapp did not respond well to the advance. It is possible Spacey specifically targeted Rapp because Spacey is sexually attracted to teen boys.

That attraction has nothing to do with being gay. Likewise, Spacey was 26-years-old at the time. That puts 12 years between the two, so the excuse that Spacey was young becomes invalid.

A few years ago, Spacey’s statement might have worked to shift the focus off the accusation. Fortunately, it appears no one is buying it. Numerous people and organizations have criticized Spacey’s statement for its insensitivity and obvious attempted misdirection.

What this means for Spacey is still open. He might end up a Hollywood pariah. His career might be over. It is also possible that given how Rapp described the events Hollywood may forgive Spacey for committing a drunken mistake. All of that hinges on whether Rapp remains the only person to accuse Spacey of trying to have sex with them when they were underage. If any other men or boys come forward, particularly young actors who worked with Spacey, then Spacey would definitely be done.

I would also like to note that many of the Hollywood people criticizing Spacey have worked within the industry for years. As I mentioned before, the sex abuse is an open secret within the industry, so I would say to all those people shaming Spacey now: where was your outrage 24 hours ago? Where was your outrage 5, 10, 20 years ago? You have been a part of the industry all this time. At least one of you knows for certain that a child was abused. Why did you not report it? Why did you not protect the children from those predators?

For all the posturing and outraging you are doing, keep in mind that people like you made this possible. If Harvey Weinstein knew that even an intern would report him to the cops rather than protect their career path, he would not have behaved as he did. All of you who heard first-hand accounts, saw something, heard something, and did nothing are the reason why this abuse happens. While it is great that you are speaking out now, do not pretend that you have not been at least complicit in covering up the abuse.

10 thoughts on “Kevin Spacey Comes Out To Brush Aside Molestation Accusation

  1. Very true, TS. I’m an actor in the UK myself, but I’ve never got enough high-profile acting roles to come into the zone of awareness that many people in the industry possess, let alone Hollywood. However, I do have a friend who’s been close, and he’s told me a few stories.
    One of which was one actor, one who I won’t name but if I did would be recognisable, who touted himself as a ‘feminist’ (not my usual axe-to-grind-against-feminism rhetoric here, he specifically referred to himself as such) and yet his groupies would be brought to his trailer regularly to ‘cheer him up’ while he had a wife and child at home.

    Not necessarily predatory conduct, but it shows the culture that exists there, it is really weird. Another example was Rosario Dawson groping Paul Rudd at the Spirit Awards in 2011, referring to herself as a ‘women’s rights activist’ and declaring that ‘women should get to cop a feel too’. I was angry about this at first, but when I considered it later on, it made me think, maybe her behaviour is a demonstration of the culture in Hollywood that’s been simmering under the surface all these years.

    In addition, when I complained about my own abusive experiences in school to a friend, he told me that in the entertainment industry I was to expect such behaviour, and when I said that anyone who treated me that way I would ‘punch their lights out’ he told me ‘dude, you can’t think like that’ and now I think about it, it does beg the question

    When it comes to this story, Kevin Spacey is despicable, but also an utter moron. To try and use ‘coming out’ as a deflective shield is not just contemptible, it’s also utterly bizarre, and if twitter was anything to go by this morning, the gay community want Spacey’s head on a spike.

  2. Some points I brought up on Variety’s comments threads about this:

    Another commenter posted a still of Rapp from “Adventures in Babysitting” to prove that Rapp did not look grown-up for his age. I added another point: he didn’t sound it, either. Next time you watch that movie, listen to Rapp’s dialogue (he’s the goofy, mischievous best friend). His voice still hasn’t completely broken. You could tell he was still going through puberty every time he opened his mouth.

    I am also very piqued by the language being used to describe Spacey’s behavior in the headlines. The behavior of men like Harvey Weinstein and James Toback has quite rightly been categorized as sexual harassment or assault. Nobody minces words regarding them. But Kevin Spacey? He engaged in “sexual misconduct,” “made advances,” “made a pass,” or even “tried to seduce” Rapp. Guess what? Use of force constitutes assault or attempted assault, not seduction.

    If you look at gay gossip sites like DataLounge, you’ll find more than one thread focusing on rumors that Kevin Spacey has a history of sleazy behavior towards younger men and underage boys. Rosie O’Donnell tweeted this morning that “everybody knew” about him. And Anthony Rapp told the Advocate back in the ’90s about Spacey’s actions, but because of their “no outing” policy, they refused to name names. The floodgates just might burst this week.

    As for Spacey’s career, I predict a nosedive. Netflix announced thay “House of Cards” would be cancelled today.

  3. One more thing to vent about: I am really tired of men and women alike on various sites trivializing the abuse and saying that Rapp was a “wimp,” “sissy,” “p***y,” etc., for feeling traumatizted by a “minor advance.” Excuse me, but a minor advance is when someone spits out a cheap pickup line. When you are pinned down underneath another person and have no way of knowing what is going to happen next, that is not minor, especially for a 14-year-old. It sounds to me like Rapp escaped by the skin of his teeth.

  4. Okay, okay, sorry for carpet-bombing these comments, but here’s another stack of Spacey stories I dug up, all of them prior to yesterday’s revelations: http://defamer.gawker.com/people-keep-telling-us-about-kevin-spacey-s-aggressive-1686507320

    Some of them involve what appear to have been consensual encounters, but others are tales of aggression, unwanted pursuit, and domineering behavior. Some of the men in those stories were straight and adamantly uninterested in Spacey. He didn’t care.

  5. Adding to my earlier comment, male abusers of men and underage boys can in fact be gay. The bottom line is that people keep saying ‘most abusers of men or boys are straight’ and you can understand the reason to want to do this, to try and avoid the insidious myth of gay people being paedophiles.

    Of course, nowadays we know this isn’t true, but the fact of the matter is that some abusers and paedophiles ARE gay, and most straight male abusers target women and girls anyway, it’s a logical understanding. We can acknowledge it without giving in to bigoted myths about gay people. Obviously, Spacey’s actions are the opposite, but he IS an abuser so his priority was obviously to try in the most pathetic way possible, to cover his tracks. He knew he was beyond the pale already.

  6. “do not pretend that you have not been at least complicit in covering up the abuse.”

    If everyone knew it, why did they stay alone with those people? Do some parents accept this risk for the sake of their children’s career? If yes, the parents should also be accused.

  7. “Of course, nowadays we know this isn’t true, but the fact of the matter is that some abusers and paedophiles ARE gay, and most straight male abusers target women and girls anyway, it’s a logical understanding.”

    Some abusers indeed are gay, but probably a smaller percentage of gay men are than straight men are simply because boys don’t present as particularly manly – masculine perhaps but not manly, obviously – until they mature. They can in fact present as rather feminine. This makes them less attractive to gay men and more attractive to straight men. The baza bachi business in Afghanistan is probably entirely straight men. Boys are really just stand ins for women in that case.

  8. Yeph–that would certainly apply to Corey Feldman’s parents, who by all accounts were wretched people themselves. Anthony Rapp’s mother apparently thought that he wasn’t in great danger interacting with great Broadway stars. (Spacey was not well-known in 1980s Hollywood and had mainly done theater at that point.) But if show parents in general knew by the 1990s, then I agree with you.

Leave a comment